The Ninth Confession: Letting Go

Standard

Confessions of A Closet Atheist

I was watching “Paul” the other night, and I got to the scene where Paul gives Ruth all his knowledge of the universe. I kind of felt a pang of jealousy at having that. Then, it goes to the scene where Ruth is dealing with the realization that every thing she had been brought up to believe was wrong. Setting aside that I was never as extremist in my views as she was, this is how I felt when I stopped believing in Heaven and Hell. That’s when it hit me. I’d taken yet another step away from religion and hadn’t even realized it. I now really didn’t believe in any kind of God.

Mystic Mountain in the Carina Nebula from Hubble. Mystic Mountain in the Carina Nebula from Hubble.

The funny part for me is how beautiful the world is without it. I wouldn’t have thought that. I’d always thought nature and space and life were beautiful…

View original post 148 more words

Leave a Reply

