Human Trafficking tragedy

Standard

Atlanta (CNN)In the new CNN documentary “Children for Sale: The Fight to End Human Trafficking,” actress Jada Pinkett Smith worked closely with CNN producers to shed light on the growing epidemic of human trafficking in the United States — in particular, Atlanta.

It’s a problem that may seem too big to tackle, but for the thousands of people caught in this dangerous world, there is hope. And there are ways you can help.

Watch ‘Children for Sale: The Fight to End Human Trafficking’

Tuesday: 9 p.m. ET and PT / 3 a.m. CET Wednesday / 9 a.m. HKT Wednesday

Wednesday: 7 a.m. ET and PT / 1 p.m. CET or 7 p.m. HKT;

11 a.m. ET and PT / 5 p.m. CET / 11 p.m. HKT;

3 p.m. ET and PT / 9 p.m CET / 3 a.m. HKT Thursday.

Join the conversation at #endsextrafficking.

Here are some organizations that are helping victims start new lives:

The Living Water Center is a safe house and rehabilitation center for human trafficking victims. It also helps survivors graduate from high school and apply for college and/or job placement.

Wellspring Living provides a safe house, education, and therapy for underage victims. It also offers an independent living program which includes continued education and job skills training.

4Sarah is an intervention program that reaches out to women working in strip clubs and informs them about the risks of the human trafficking industry.

There are also other organizations and resources across the United States where you can find help or donate.

Safe Horizon is based in New York City and provides housing, counseling, legal services, education and job training. The organization also has a 24-hour hotline available.

Polaris Project in the Washington area has a crisis response team with emergency housing, transportation, and legal advocacy. The organization also has a center where victims can get clothing, food, therapy and job placement help.

Not For Sale in San Francisco partners with businesses and employers to find jobs for victims in addition to providing education and shelter. The organization also has locations in Europe, South America, and Asia.

If you or someone you know is a victim of human trafficking, call the National Human Trafficking Resource Center at 1-888-373-7888.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s